May 22, 2019

Haven’t posted in a while, but I’m beyond bored proctoring this AP exam to a student at the high school.  My phone charger just died, also, which means that the computer is my only outlet for entertainment and passing of this long day. Lately, I’ve been reading up on Trail Journals for the Pacific Crest Trail, and I’ve also been keeping an eye out on the trail report updates for Mount San Jacinto.  I plan on summiting San Jacinto next in my quest to complete the So Cal Six Pack of Peaks.  The more that I read up on these through-hikers, the more I begin to believe that I could actually handle completing the John Muir Trial in the near future.  I don’t really want to hike it alone, and I want to purchase a lightweight camera that takes decent photos before I begin.  I’ve begun following various hiking blogs, Instagram accounts, and Facebook groups to read up and learn about topics I don’t have much experience in.  The amount of beauty within nature, and within the places on the trail that go unnoticed, is simply astounding, and something about the pursuit of this beauty enthralls me beyond belief.  Not to mention, I’ve come to realize how much I crave physical challenges in my day-to-day life.  Recently I began working out at a gym called Orange Theory, and it’s easily been one of the best things that’s happened to my weekly routine in some time.  I feel motivated to go (most of the time) and it is challenging in multiple ways.  I am far fitter than I’ve been in quite a while, and I truly feel strong and ready to conquer anything.  It’s funny how you don’t realize how much you miss something that isn’t super fun in the moment, until you start doing it again and remember the reward and feeling at the end.  All that said, I feel ready to attempt to backpack a significant amount of miles within the next few years.  I’m not sure what form that will take, to be honest, but I am feeling more ready than ever…

Leave a comment